Bulletin for March 24, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, March 24, 2019

* Welcome
* Song: Found in You
* Greeting, Announcements, Prayer
* Songs: Lord, I Need You; Death Was Arrested; Fighting For Us
* Message: Troy Solava

Songs Used by Permission - CCLI License #356753
____________________________
 
What’s Happening at CVBC

· We welcome missionaries Dave & Tamara Johnson today!

· Attention Men of CVBC: There will be a Servant Leadership meeting today during second service in room 10. Continuing discussion on opportunities to serve our local church body, with information re: the next King's Banquet.

· A one-day Membership Class will be held TONIGHT from 5:30-7:15pm, for all those interested in becoming members of CVBC. A meal is included. Sign up at the table in the foyer.

· CVBC Dinner Theater will be Friday and Saturday, March 29-30. Join us at Uncle Phil’s Diner 2 for a 1957 Homecoming Banquet with music, food, laughs, and fun. Tickets are on sale after both services. Adults: $15, Kids 8 & under: $10.

· Weekly prayer for CVBC families: Please join the elders in praying this week for the following people: Matt & Jodi Jewell; Jeff & Sara Johnson; and Ric & Jodi Johnson. If you would like to be included in the prayer schedule, you can indicate so on the tear-off card. Include name and email or phone.

· We’re planning two 1-day Sunday classes for adults in April in preparation for an upcoming sermon from Colossians. Couples can sign up for the April 7 class and the April 14 class is for fathers. Each class will meet at 10:30am.

· Ladies, please join us on Saturday, April 13 from 9:30-11:30am for our Spring Luncheon. Kris Greener, Certified Health Education Specialist, will give a short presentation on simple changes you can make to improve your health, and our featured speaker, Kari Murray, will share "My Life Defined By Christ."  We will then enjoy a delicious, allergy-friendly lunch prepared and served by Kris Custer. Sign up in the foyer by Sunday, April 7.

· Men's retreat: The CVBC men's retreat is back for 2019! Mark your calendars for May 10-11 at Arrowhead Bible Camp. Our theme this year is "Sheep to Shepherd," and we'll explore how to embrace and grow in the leadership areas that God has put in our lives. More details to come!
__________________________

Clothed in Christ
Colossians 3:12-17

Main idea: Christ has  ________ us with new life, so we should clothe ourselves
with  _____________ centered on __________.

1. Clothe ourselves with the __________ of Christ.

2. Clothe ourselves with the ______________ of Christ.

3. Clothe ourselves with the _______________ of Christ.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Small Group discussion questions:

1.  What stood out to you from the passage or the sermon?

2.  How did Jesus demonstrate his love toward others in his earthly life? How can you imitate this love practically in our congregation?

3.  (Vs. 17) What does it mean to “do everything in the name of the Lord  Jesus?” How can you do just that at work, in your home, etc.?

____________________

Back of Bulletin Missionary Highlight:

Dave & Tamara Johnson
304 E. MacArthur Ave
Eau Claire, WI  54701
Phone: 715-379-4398
Email: Dave.Johnson@cru.org
           Tamara.Johnson@cru.org

CRU (Campus Crusade for Christ)
Northwest Wisconsin Team working with the Faculty Commons division of the Campus Ministry

Dave works on the UW-Eau Claire, UW-Stout and UW-River Falls campuses, reaching out to professors. Our vision is to see Christian faculty raised up to be courageous lights for Jesus Christ in every corner of a campus. We want to connect the Christian faculty to the Christian organizations on campus so professors and students together can have an even greater impact for Christ. That our hearts continue to be given to the goal of giving every faculty, staff, administrator, and student an attractive opportunity to hear the gospel. Tamara works with the Cru Human Resources division looking at over one hundred applications each year—students wanting to serve full or part-time with Cru. She trains and coordinates evaluators and oversees the final decision on the acceptance of each applicant.

PRAYER REQUESTS:

1. That we will see Christian faculty commit to sharing Jesus Christ on these college campuses.

2. That Dave will have many open doors to disciple Christian faculty and share Christ with skeptics.

3. That Tamara will have wisdom as the decisions are made to accept or reject applicants who want to serve full-time with Cru.

Anniversary:  June 14, 1975
Birthdays: 
Dave – August 29                     
Tamara – June 13

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

CVBC Leaders & Staff

Elder Team:                              
Dave Daniels                 715-830-1403                        daved@cvbc.net
Alan Dunham                715-864-4406                        aland@cvbc.net
Steve Hein*                   715-802-6243                        heinss1521@gmail.com
Matt Jewell                    715-254-5290                        mattj@cvbc.net
Stuart Krause                715-933-1422                        stuartk@cvbc.net
Troy Solava*                  615-347-9368                        cvbc.troy@gmail.com
Wayne Street                715-456-8992                         waynes@cvbc.net
Brent Tilton                   715-828-9552                        brentt@cvbc.net
* candidate

Deacon Team:
Joe Cherrier 715-720-7718 joec@cvbc.net
Mark Hedrington 715-214-3840 markh@cvbc.net
Terry Huppert 715-577-4846 terryh@cvbc.net

Staff:
Heather Clutter Children’s Ministry Director   heatherc@cvbc.net
Alan Dunham Student Ministry Director   aland@cvbc.net
Jodi Jewell Music Director   jodij@cvbc.net
Mary Jorstad Custodian   maryj@cvbc.net
Libby Krause Secretary   libbyk@cvbc.net
Chris Kriehn Office Manager   chrisk@cvbc.net
Troy Solava Teaching Elder   cvbc.troy@gmail.com
Heather Woldhuis Graphics Specialist       heatherw@cvbc.net